Black Friday without camping out

Venusaur

Can you still get awesome deals on Black Friday without camping out? I really don't want to sit in a tent for 3 days.

Define "awesome". If you want that unadvertised desktop from Best Buy for ~$150, you might want to start camping out now. If you're just looking to pickup some cheap dvd box sets, then you can probably wait until sometime late October.

I usually am up an out about 2-3 hours before the store I want to hit is opening. I just take a blanker, chair and book and I am set till they open. This works well at Target, Kohls, and sometimes Walmart but not for the electronic stores.

I never camp either. Last year, DF and I got to Target at 5 and they opened at 6, the line was already to the back of the store, but we still got what we wanted. I had DF stand in an aisle like the camping aisle that wasn't busy with the cart while I ran and got what we wanted.

I have been doing BF for about 6 years now and I have found if you want anything electronic then you will need to camp out. If you want clothes and household goods then you should get there around 1am local time.

If you do camp out then you will have to get there days in advance because most of the people in the front of the line are college kids wanting computers for college.

I have never camped out and always got good deals. No doorbusters but I don't care much for those as I have no need for the doorbusters 95% of the time. I get inline about 2 to 3 hours before the store opens.

My advice is find a city (area) that is more high end. Where I go there is not many people in line as those who are rich are not going to sleep in a tent or wait in line for 4 hours to save a couple hundred bucks.

Since you will be a first time camper keep a look out for my Black Friday videos. I will do one on how to camp for BF.

Thanks for the replies everyone. The deals I had in mind were those doorbuster electronics, so looks like I'll have to camp out to get them!