Gifts for Teachers, Bake, Make, or Buy?

revecca

I usually buy the teachers Visa gift certificates for the holidays. It gets harder each year because I have four and as they get older the more teachers they get. I am tempted this year to make things for them, and have my two girls help. What do you do for your child/childrens teachers? :)

My boys are 7 and 10. We usually buy their teachers some items from Bath and Body Works....like hand sanitizes, small candles, and/or lotions. Nothing strong scented, though. Sometimes we check the Hallmark store. And usually, the boys want to get them some kind of chocolate. We have also done the cookie mixes in the jar.

Just know that if you give them a homemade food item, it might not be eaten. People have so many food allergies and phobias, I stopped doing homemade food gifts a long time ago.

I work in a school and agree! We are inundated with food items all month long. Soaps, lotions and candles are another tough one with allergies and preferences.

Homemade cards are treasured! While gift cards seem impersonal, even one for $5 is appreciated.

Bake!

I give yummy hand made old fashioned yeast based bread loaves.  Sometimes I do braids, but usually just loaf pan loaves.

I can get a huge bag of flour at Costco for less than $8 and I always have a big container of yeast on hand.  With that and just a couple other items I can make 30 or more loaves!! 

Nothing beats fresh homemade bread.

• Like 1

I work in a school and agree! We are inundated with food items all month long. Soaps, lotions and candles are another tough one with allergies and preferences.

Homemade cards are treasured! While gift cards seem impersonal, even one for $5 is appreciated.

I agree!  My favorite gift is the $5.00 gift card I receive from the same family every year.  It is from Dairy Queen and I save it until the last day of school.  Then I treat myself!