Is all of the attention ruining BF?

Josher5513

Is anyone else thinking that maybe the relatively recent media blitz, and online exposure explosion have contributed to the pretty dull BF ad's so far this year?

Those of us with a background in business management realize that these sales are pretty much set in stone FAR advance, with the exception of some last minute deals. So, many retailers were hurting after last years poor holiday numbers, and didn't stock up on inventory this year, therefore realize they don't need to be discounting as much to push product this year.

As far as Black Friday goes, I think the retailers realize now that no matter what, there will be lines around the block for whatever is in the ad, because of the hype that has developed.. I've been camping out for Black Friday since about 2003. Every year, I've had to get in line earlier and earlier.. My last year was 2005, when I got in line at Circuit City at 7:30, and was number two.. Number three didn't arrive until 2 hours later. In 2006, there was a line 10 deep by 4pm. Even worse in 2007. I've notice every year it seems there are more people who don't realize when things aren't really THAT BIG of a sale, they just go thinking it has to be, because it's the infamous Black Friday. They see something in the ad, and automatically think it must be a HUGE discount. It seems retailers have caught on to this, and over the past couple of years have eased up on the deals, because they realize this day they will sell the items in those ads, no matter what (Not including Wal Mart's problems last year).

It's just a little disappointing, this year.