Son wants trumpet...

bookbuffy

:gd_twocen :) Former band bum here, trumpet player among others. If you're going to invest, I'd start with a good used horn from a reputable instrument store, or a pawn shop. SOMETIMES you can find good deals on ebay. I've been pondering starting my son on a horn for the past 2 years and he's in first grade. In my opinion it is never too early to foster a child's love of music. There are some 'toy' horns out there but honestly I'd go for a real one.

You'll need to work with him more than an older child as far as teaching him how to propertly handle and care for his horn, make sure you get a hard shell case with it, valve/slide oil, etc.

Try woodwindbrasswind.com for starters. Hope you find what you need :D

I bought a trumpet from musiciansfriend.com and got it at a great price! Sign up for their emails and keep checking back on prices. The trumpet i got her was 149.99 on sale! it is reg price 279.99 with a list price of 575!! good luck finding one!

I totally understand where you are on this. My five year old has been asking for a trombone for at least two years now, maybe three. I haven't purchased one yet because I am jsut not sure if it will be worth it. I would prefer that he gets a trumpet than a trombone and I don't think he would mind - just wants to play a horn! Let me know if you find any great deals and I will do the same! Good luck!

I would check out pawn shops or instrument stores. At 5 years old, you really don't want to get an expensive item. Also, check with your local school. Often, there will be instruments that have been donated to them that they will part with for $25-50 or so. The program could use the money for buying music, etc., since most people buy or rent their own horn.

Hope that helps!

June