Line Etiquette Question?

ski_bunny100

We want the Dance Central Kinect game from Old Navy...so we were going to drop my husband off at 9 to stand in line there and then the ladies would head over to Toys R Us and come back around 11 to join him in line. Two questions- 1- Is 9:00 early enough to get the game? (my guess is since it's only for Kinect it will be less people than last year, but I've never done Old Navy before). 2- Are people going to get really mad if we jump in line by him at the last minute? What's the etiquette on Black Friday lines? I'm not diehard by any means and don't want to cause a ruckus or anything because I didn't know the "rules." Thanks!

Common etiquette would be that an actual human being must be in the spot. I have seen people stand in line for some of the night and someone comes for the rest of the night. Sometimes people get a little mad at that, but at least there was an actual person there and the number of people in line does not change (The person who left does not come back). Now if you are saving spots for people who have not been there, I do not agree with that and the other people in line will not either.

I'm not sure about Old Navy, but at other stores (Target, Best Buy, Sears, Circuit City, etc) I have seen this happen and people are not happy. You could get anything from rude looks and snide remarks to yelling by others in line to someone from the store removing you from the line. If you trade 1 to 1 you should be fine. But if there is 1 person in line and all of a sudden before opening it increases to 3 people that would really be ditching and people aren't going to be happy. I wouldn't recommend it.