So unfair but it comes with the territory - Working Xmas Eve

orangedaisy

I am a nurse and I work night shift 7p-7a. I have to work on Christmas Eve this year to fulfill my holiday commitment. :cry2: It's my most favorite time to spend with my family, and most of our traditions are carried out on Christmas eve. I'll have to leave by 6:15 pm to go to work. I have been looking for someone to switch with but so far, no luck. :(

Anyone else have to work over the holiday?

Edited by Rockfordmom
made title more descriptive

I am a nurse and I work night shift 7p-7a. I have to work on Christmas Eve this year to fulfill my holiday commitment. :cry2: It's my most favorite time to spend with my family, and most of our traditions are carried out on Christmas eve. I'll have to leave by 6:15 pm to go to work. I have been looking for someone to switch with but so far, no luck. :(

Not in my current job, worked retail for many years, as we lost the idea of closing for holidays I was home less and less. ONe of the reasons I found a new job. My brother was with the sherriff's dept for more than 15 years. Being single he often worked over into part of the am shift so another parent could be home at least part of the day with their families so I do understand the feelings of missing out. He never got to our house when the food was still hot and he missed his nephews opening presents etc until he retired.

I feel for you. Maybe you could switch some traditions this year to Christmas night, or Christmas Eve, Eve.

Or have hubby bring the kids up to the hospital and help spread cheer to the patients.

My hubby works in the restaurant business. Every year we would keep the traditions going, but modify them for his schedule. I know...It sucks! This year he finally landed a GM position at a restaurant that's only open M-F for breakfast and lunch, no holidays! After 21 years in the business, this Christmas should actually be 'normal', whatever that is! LOL