Jump to content


Guests: Please register to get rid of these annoying ads! Registered members enjoy an ad-free forum.


Photo

Forum Software Upgrade


91 replies to this topic

#31 Rose0426  OFFLINE  

Rose0426

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 479 Posts
  • Member since 2006
  • Location: Newark, DE

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 6:02 am

Am I missing something? Where is everything from the home page...deals of the day, etc.

#32 Gator Pam  OFFLINE  

Gator Pam

    Proud Perimeter Peruser!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,096 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Redmond, WA

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 6:09 am

When I attempt to "Mark Forum Read" in both Offline Hot Deals and The GottaDeal Lounge, nothing is happening at all. I can get it to mark read if I right click and Open in a New Tab. But I do prefer being able to mark read in the tab I already have open. Those are the only two forums I regularly frequent, so I do not know if it would happen for me in all forums if I were to try it. I am using Firefox 3.6

#33 Kara1204  OFFLINE  

Kara1204

    Think Pink!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,235 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 6:53 am

Ditto. I want to be supportive but, ah its so weird. Might have to get those bifocals after all.
I'll get used to it.


I agree. Is the font smaller? Or is it just the lighter color that makes me want to break out the reading glasses?
All those who wander are not lost.........

#34 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:09 am

Am I missing something? Where is everything from the home page...deals of the day, etc.


The home page is still at www.gottadeal.com. That hasn't changed.

#35 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:10 am

How do I know if I have a PM? I was used to the green highlighted thingy. Now I dont see anything and if it is there you have done a mighty fine job of making it subtle. :)


At the top where it says "Notifications", it will turn orange when you have something. I can change that to the old green which will make it stand out more.

#36 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:12 am

I agree. Is the font smaller? Or is it just the lighter color that makes me want to break out the reading glasses?


The font looks the same to me. What color is lighter? The background for posts is white which it was on the old board as well.

#37 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:16 am

When I attempt to "Mark Forum Read" in both Offline Hot Deals and The GottaDeal Lounge, nothing is happening at all.
I can get it to mark read if I right click and Open in a New Tab.
But I do prefer being able to mark read in the tab I already have open.

Those are the only two forums I regularly frequent, so I do not know if it would happen for me in all forums if I were to try it.

I am using Firefox 3.6


This is a known bug and the developers are aware of it. However, if you are in a forum and go to the "forum tools" menu and then "mark this forum read", even though it won't appear that you are clicking on it, it should indeed mark that forum as read.

#38 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:20 am

Like I said, we are definitely open to making changes, but you have to be specific about what and where the issue is. We did the upgrade during this slow time of year so we have plenty of time to get things right.

#39 JohnnyLaRue  OFFLINE  

JohnnyLaRue

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,226 Posts
  • Member since 2008

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:27 am

I see it now but yea make it another colour as it blends in with the orange bar on top. I mean you don't have to change the colour as I now know where it is but that is my two centums.

#40 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:31 am

I see it now but yea make it another colour as it blends in with the orange bar on top. I mean you don't have to change the colour as I now know where it is but that is my two centums.


I changed it back to the old neon green.

#41 kimpooh19  OFFLINE  

kimpooh19

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 628 Posts
  • Member since 2006
  • Location: Florida

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:58 am

It would be labeled as Compatibility View somewhere in the menus. What version of Internet Explorer are you using?


I am using IE 7. I have looked everywhere but can't seem to find it :(

:heart: someone with Eosinophilic Esophagitis!  


#42 magickallight  OFFLINE  

magickallight

    Moderator

  • 57,705 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Gulf Coast of Alabama

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 7:59 am

Still having difficulty searching the online deal thread to see if a deal has already been posted! If I use advanced search it WILL let me paste (which regular search on the page WILL NOT)... but it pulls up Pages of irrelevant posts that have nothing to do with what I entered in. :(

“The more I know about people, the more I love my dog.” ~ Mark Twain.


#43 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 10:57 am

Still having difficulty searching the online deal thread to see if a deal has already been posted! If I use advanced search it WILL let me paste (which regular search on the page WILL NOT)... but it pulls up Pages of irrelevant posts that have nothing to do with what I entered in. :(


What version of Firefox are you using and what operating system? I can't get that error to happen in any browser I have and can't find anything about any other board having the problem.

#44 nelly  OFFLINE  

nelly

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,120 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 11:02 am

I changed it back to the old neon green.


thanks! i like the neon green too

#45 Gator Pam  OFFLINE  

Gator Pam

    Proud Perimeter Peruser!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,096 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Redmond, WA

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 11:21 am

This is a known bug and the developers are aware of it. However, if you are in a forum and go to the "forum tools" menu and then "mark this forum read", even though it won't appear that you are clicking on it, it should indeed mark that forum as read.


ah, OK!
I'll try that next time and then refresh the page.
My thanks.

#46 Scott  OFFLINE  

Scott

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,002 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 11:23 am

I miss the breadcrumb links at the bottom me the pages. :-)

#47 conj  OFFLINE  

conj

    WHats My function, you ask?

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,311 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 11:47 am

I came across a calendar (somewhere... here...) but it only went up to 2008?
Don't join dangerous cults: Practice safe sects!

Knowledge does not dissolve integrity - Conj

#48 Kara1204  OFFLINE  

Kara1204

    Think Pink!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,235 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 12:48 pm

The font looks the same to me. What color is lighter? The background for posts is white which it was on the old board as well.


I think that THESE letters are a lighter color???? The ones you are reading right now. And, I am pretty sure the default font size is smaller???
I could be wrong, but there is definitely SOMETHING about reading the posts that is harder. I guess I do not have anything from the old board to look at and compare it to to get it narrowed down.

Whoa, I just typed all of that out and looked up and there was NOTHING. Then, 18 seconds later, it all appeared at once. Freaky!
All those who wander are not lost.........

#49 biomajor  OFFLINE  

biomajor

    Michelle

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,348 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 1:31 pm

i miss my rabbit tracks or whatever they were really called on the bottom of the thread :)

e.g. * Forum * Off Topic * Discuss GottaDeal.com * Forum Software Upgrade

#50 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 2:40 pm

I miss the breadcrumb links at the bottom me the pages. :-)


i miss my rabbit tracks or whatever they were really called on the bottom of the thread :)

e.g. * Forum * Off Topic * Discuss GottaDeal.com * Forum Software Upgrade


Yeah I am working on getting a bottom breadcrumb. I had to custom-code it last time, and that code doesn't work anymore, so it's work in progress.

#51 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 2:43 pm

I think that THESE letters are a lighter color???? The ones you are reading right now. And, I am pretty sure the default font size is smaller???
I could be wrong, but there is definitely SOMETHING about reading the posts that is harder. I guess I do not have anything from the old board to look at and compare it to to get it narrowed down.

Whoa, I just typed all of that out and looked up and there was NOTHING. Then, 18 seconds later, it all appeared at once. Freaky!


I made the font as dark as it can be. As for the post thing not appearing, I'm seeing that as well. I'll check into it. It only happens in IE with me, not in Firefox or Chrome.

Overall things seem to work better and faster on the new version with FF or Chrome. That's likely more the fault of Microsoft for their IE implementation than it is our fault or the fault of the vBulletin designers, but I can't ask people to use a different browser for just one site. I'm looking into things though.

#52 Kara1204  OFFLINE  

Kara1204

    Think Pink!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,235 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 3:44 pm

I made the font as dark as it can be. As for the post thing not appearing, I'm seeing that as well. I'll check into it. It only happens in IE with me, not in Firefox or Chrome.

Overall things seem to work better and faster on the new version with FF or Chrome. That's likely more the fault of Microsoft for their IE implementation than it is our fault or the fault of the vBulletin designers, but I can't ask people to use a different browser for just one site. I'm looking into things though.


That helped! Is is darker and somehow...."crisper." Thanks!
I will learn to live with it, I do not use FF or Chrome for anything else.
All those who wander are not lost.........

#53 jeninpa  OFFLINE  

jeninpa

    Mama to 4

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,248 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 9:45 pm

The video link isn't working! It worked so smoothly in beta! I was all excited to have a reason to post a Youtube video too! lol
"Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, dreams are forever." - Tinkerbell

#54 JohnnyLaRue  OFFLINE  

JohnnyLaRue

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,226 Posts
  • Member since 2008

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 11:37 pm

The green stands out now. Much better! :)

#55 magickallight  OFFLINE  

magickallight

    Moderator

  • 57,705 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Gulf Coast of Alabama

Posted Mar 12, 2010 - 7:27 am

What version of Firefox are you using and what operating system? I can't get that error to happen in any browser I have and can't find anything about any other board having the problem.


Using FireFox 3.5.8 (am going to upgrade to 3.6 to see if it helps) - Also using Windows XP Pro. The search problems have gotten worse for me - put in platform bed (manually) and it pulled up like 5 pages of off the wall things like video games and all kinds of things that have NOTHING to do with that term. :(

“The more I know about people, the more I love my dog.” ~ Mark Twain.


#56 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 12, 2010 - 12:19 pm

The video link isn't working! It worked so smoothly in beta! I was all excited to have a reason to post a Youtube video too! lol


Try again and let me know if there are problems still.

#57 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,738 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 12, 2010 - 12:22 pm

Using FireFox 3.5.8 (am going to upgrade to 3.6 to see if it helps) - Also using Windows XP Pro. The search problems have gotten worse for me - put in platform bed (manually) and it pulled up like 5 pages of off the wall things like video games and all kinds of things that have NOTHING to do with that term. :(


Searching for platform bed brings up threads that have platform OR bed in them - for example, the video game threads listed something like "Platform: Xbox 360" which is why those showed up. Using Advanced Search, you could search by title only to eliminate a lot of the other results.

I'm also going to experiement with using Google Site Search on here which uses Google's technology to (hopefully) provide much better search results. Give me a week or two to get that worked out.

#58 magickallight  OFFLINE  

magickallight

    Moderator

  • 57,705 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Gulf Coast of Alabama

Posted Mar 12, 2010 - 1:50 pm

Searching for platform bed brings up threads that have platform OR bed in them - for example, the video game threads listed something like "Platform: Xbox 360" which is why those showed up. Using Advanced Search, you could search by title only to eliminate a lot of the other results.

I'm also going to experiement with using Google Site Search on here which uses Google's technology to (hopefully) provide much better search results. Give me a week or two to get that worked out.


Went into andvanced search - chose titles only and within the last month and searched for the term "Sex And The City" and it gave me "Wii Crossing Animals"... SO confused! :confused:

“The more I know about people, the more I love my dog.” ~ Mark Twain.


#59 jeninpa  OFFLINE  

jeninpa

    Mama to 4

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,248 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 12, 2010 - 6:29 pm

Try again and let me know if there are problems still.


Works now!! And you know what else works that didn't before? You couldn't use the spoiler thing when editing! You could use it when posting but if you went back in to edit your post later it wasn't available and now it is,lol.
"Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, dreams are forever." - Tinkerbell

#60 conj  OFFLINE  

conj

    WHats My function, you ask?

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,311 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 13, 2010 - 5:14 am

when you get to massaging the appearance - could you change the size of the fields when it lists threads? So that the title field is longer (can't read the whole title now) and you could make the reply field shorter (it has extra space) and maybe get rid of the word "forum:" that is before each subforum..... This is especially helpful when looking at deals, if I can't read the price (often at the end of a title) I am less likely to click in...
Don't join dangerous cults: Practice safe sects!

Knowledge does not dissolve integrity - Conj



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users