Jump to content


Guests: Please register to get rid of these annoying ads! Registered members enjoy an ad-free forum.


Photo

Gottadeal Forum Issue?


19 replies to this topic

#1 ObiRich  OFFLINE  

ObiRich

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Oct 7, 2009 - 3:05 am

Sometimes when I click on the arrow to go to the first unread post in a thread. I get a "The administrator has banned your IP" error. If I hit the back button and then click on the title of the thread it will open, and then I can navigate to the latest post(s). Any idea why this happens, how to fix it, and does anyone else have this problem?

#2 Scott  OFFLINE  

Scott

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,971 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Oct 7, 2009 - 4:29 am

I haven't noticed this myself. I've moved it in to the Discuss GottaDeal.com forum and we will see if maybe Brad has an answer.

#3 conj  OFFLINE  

conj

    WHats My function, you ask?

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,219 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Oct 7, 2009 - 5:17 am

I too get this occasionally... I figure it is a glitch, as it quickly corrects itself.
Don't join dangerous cults: Practice safe sects!

Knowledge does not dissolve integrity - Conj

#4 amyers12345  OFFLINE  

amyers12345

    Unofficial Resident Tax Pro

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,498 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Oct 7, 2009 - 5:22 am

I've been having the same issue with the search function lately. I wait a couple of minutes and try again and it's fine.
The biggest impact you can make on the environment is to leave as little impact as possible. -Toyota :D

#5 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 22,007 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Oct 7, 2009 - 6:21 am

Sometimes when I click on the arrow to go to the first unread post in a thread. I get a "The administrator has banned your IP" error. If I hit the back button and then click on the title of the thread it will open, and then I can navigate to the latest post(s). Any idea why this happens, how to fix it, and does anyone else have this problem?


Looks like you are using AOL, which changes your IP address constantly, so maybe someone who had used that IP address in the past was banned. If you can figure out what IP address you are using when you get the 'banned' message, we can unblock that IP.

#6 Stowasser  OFFLINE  

Stowasser

    Jill (Boo)

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,949 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Montana

Posted Oct 7, 2009 - 3:31 pm

I have this issue alot, mostly when I post a reply to something it says I am banned. Yes, I use AOL too. Where would the IP addy show so we can send that one to you to un-ban it?

#7 ObiRich  OFFLINE  

ObiRich

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Oct 7, 2009 - 6:19 pm

Looks like you are using AOL, which changes your IP address constantly, so maybe someone who had used that IP address in the past was banned. If you can figure out what IP address you are using when you get the 'banned' message, we can unblock that IP.


Yes, I use AOL, but just piggyback it on my Comcast cable. The IP address on my cable modem is 24.10.221.250. As far as I know, that's not changed since it was set up several years ago.

#8 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 22,007 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Oct 7, 2009 - 6:21 pm

Yes, I use AOL, but just piggyback it on my Comcast cable. The IP address on my cable modem is 24.10.221.250. As far as I know, that's not changed since it was set up several years ago.


The forum shows this info for your last post:

The IP Address is: 207.200.116.73
The host name is: cache-ntc-ab09.proxy.aol.com

So it's definitely going through AOL.

#9 Rockfordmom  OFFLINE  

Rockfordmom

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,314 Posts
  • Member since 2006
  • Location: Rockford, IL

Posted Oct 8, 2009 - 4:45 am

I've been having the same issue with the search function lately. I wait a couple of minutes and try again and it's fine.


I get a wierd message sometimes when I search too.

#10 ObiRich  OFFLINE  

ObiRich

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Oct 8, 2009 - 11:32 am

The forum shows this info for your last post:

The IP Address is: 207.200.116.73
The host name is: cache-ntc-ab09.proxy.aol.com

So it's definitely going through AOL.



Ok. I'll try it a few times through IE and see if I have the same problem. It's just strange though that if I hit the back button, then click on the title of the thread, I don't have the same problem.

#11 bigjimslade  OFFLINE  

bigjimslade

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,318 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Corriganville Motion Picture Ranch

Posted Oct 8, 2009 - 11:42 am

If you use the AOL program to get into GD you will have an issue since you are connecting to comcast and then AOL servers and then using AOL servers to connect to the net. If you dont use the AOL program I think you will be ok.



Ok. I'll try it a few times through IE and see if I have the same problem. It's just strange though that if I hit the back button, then click on the title of the thread, I don't have the same problem.



#12 camsmom  OFFLINE  

camsmom

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 180 Posts
  • Member since 2009

Posted Oct 11, 2009 - 3:26 pm

I thought it was just me, sorry and glad to hear that it's not. I am getting it when I try and look it up on my IPhone. I haven't been able to look anything up the past couple of days. :no:

#13 amy0807  OFFLINE  

amy0807

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 409 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Oct 11, 2009 - 3:30 pm

For the past couple of days, the forum images are all messed up and the pages are pushed around by images that are out of place. Is it just me or is anyone else seeing this?

#14 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 22,007 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Oct 11, 2009 - 3:33 pm

For the past couple of days, the forum images are all messed up and the pages are pushed around by images that are out of place. Is it just me or is anyone else seeing this?


Probably something with your computer. Haven't seen anything and nobody has reported anything like that.

#15 amy0807  OFFLINE  

amy0807

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 409 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Oct 11, 2009 - 3:41 pm

It was an issue with Firefox, oddly enough. I have it fixed now.

#16 bugsette  OFFLINE  

bugsette

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,598 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Oct 11, 2009 - 3:43 pm

yes... I have aol also having problems

#17 camsmom  OFFLINE  

camsmom

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 180 Posts
  • Member since 2009

Posted Oct 12, 2009 - 6:02 pm

I'm still having the same error "The administrator has banned your IP" when trying to look up anything through my IPhone. Any help would be greatly appreciated. TIA!!

#18 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 22,007 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Oct 12, 2009 - 6:22 pm

I'm still having the same error "The administrator has banned your IP" when trying to look up anything through my IPhone. Any help would be greatly appreciated. TIA!!


I need to know the IP that this is happening for in order to fix it.

When it happens, immediately go here: http://www.whatismyip.com

and PM me with the IP address

#19 camsmom  OFFLINE  

camsmom

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 180 Posts
  • Member since 2009

Posted Oct 13, 2009 - 5:21 am

I need to know the IP that this is happening for in order to fix it.

When it happens, immediately go here: http://www.whatismyip.com

and PM me with the IP address


Thank you for taking care of this for me! :D

#20 bmatney  OFFLINE  

bmatney

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 17 Posts
  • Member since 2008

Posted Oct 27, 2009 - 2:49 pm

Why do I have to log in twice to be logged in?



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users