Digital Cameras BF

motoXmom

What is a good digital camera for the complete novice? We did get one from my mother-in-law about 5 yrs. ago and it is one that was really cheap on HSN. It was about $40-$50, if that tells you anything! We need one that is easy for all of us to use and has good quality. What are alll of these numbers that I see along side the cameras, what do they mean? Help anyone :confused::bow: I would probably pay up to maybe $300.00 if that helps.

I can tell you not to get the Sony P7, P9 etc series.....it was a great little camera but the lense retracts electronically when you turn on the camera. That started malfuncioning on ours and when we brought it to an authorized dealer he said that it cost more to fix than to get a new camera due to the Sony parts (which we paid more than 300 for the camera at the time), and then he showed us a shop full of Sony cameras with the same problem, he said it was very common.

the best buy would be a canon a75... easy enough to start with, has all great features to explore if you ever want to... excellent quality pictures.... also visit dpreview.com if you want to do a little bit research

RossMAN Approved.

Canon PowerShot A series digicams rock :eek:

Costco has a Kodak LS743 4megapixel camera WITH 512mb memory card for about $250 at costco.com ONLY. There are a number of less expensive cameras, although I believe most of them are 3mp and do not come with a 512mb memory card. You can search electronics from the front page to look for more camera deals.