Jump to content


Guests: Please register to get rid of these annoying ads! Registered members enjoy an ad-free forum.


Photo

Forum Software Upgrade


91 replies to this topic

#1 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 3:32 pm

The upgrade to vBulletin 4 has been completed. Thanks for your patience during the upgrade process. While the majority of features from the old version have been carried over, there are some add-ons that are not yet compatible. Please use this thread to report any problems, bugs, suggestions or questions you might have about the new version. Over the next few weeks/months we'll be adding even more new features to the board, so stay tuned!

#2 Venusaur  OFFLINE  

Venusaur

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 811 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 3:50 pm

I regularly click the new posts link, and with the previous software there were 50 threads per page, but now there's only 20. Is there some way to increase it? I tried looking in the General Settings area but it's not there.

#3 I<3coupons  OFFLINE  

I<3coupons

    Member

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6 Posts
  • Member since 2010

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 3:57 pm

also, I hate The Google adds on the first post and on the top of the page. Especially when you think It's a part of the post.!! The commission from the affiliate is no longer enough? we have to have Google's adds on this site as well!

#4 shopping4my3son  OFFLINE  

shopping4my3son

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 4:04 pm

also, I hate The Google adds on the first post and on the top of the page. Especially when you think It's a part of the post.!!

The commission from the affiliate is no longer enough? we have to have Google's adds on this site as well! :((


I don't see any google ads?

#5 I<3coupons  OFFLINE  

I<3coupons

    Member

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6 Posts
  • Member since 2010

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 4:06 pm

you can see them if you are not logged in!

#6 magickallight  OFFLINE  

magickallight

    Moderator

  • 58,449 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Gulf Coast of Alabama

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 4:36 pm

I LIKE the new look! You guys did a GREAT job! :gdclap: Just found a possible glitch... will NOT let me search the online hot deals to see if a post has already been posted. :( Or, to be more specific - will not let me PASTE a search term into the search box. Also - DOES NOT automatically underline LINKS.

Edited by magickallight, Mar 10, 2010 - 5:00 pm.

“The more I know about people, the more I love my dog.” ~ Mark Twain.


#7 MonsterMutts  OFFLINE  

MonsterMutts

    Farm Girl

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,151 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 4:53 pm

I know I'll get used to it.... But I hate change!

#8 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 5:00 pm

you can see them if you are not logged in!


There have always been Google ads on here if you weren't logged in, at least for the last few years. If you've always been logged in, you probably just never saw them until now.

#9 lennon2004  OFFLINE  

lennon2004

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,424 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 5:13 pm

After I logged in it took me back to the original page and it looked like I wasn't logged in until I refreshed the page. Happened twice now.
"Why don't you just make the minimum 37 pieces of flair?"

#10 brianacolie  OFFLINE  

brianacolie

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 368 Posts
  • Member since 2008

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 5:31 pm

I know I'll get used to it.... But I hate change!


ME TOOOOOO!!!! Seems harder to read....

#11 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 5:37 pm

I LIKE the new look! You guys did a GREAT job! :gdclap:

Just found a possible glitch... will NOT let me search the online hot deals to see if a post has already been posted. :( Or, to be more specific - will not let me PASTE a search term into the search box. Also - DOES NOT automatically underline LINKS.


Can you be more specific about the search error? I tried pasting a search term into both the global search (in the upper right of every page) and in the "Search Forum" menu in the online hot deals forum and had no problems. Which web browser are you using?

#12 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 5:38 pm

ME TOOOOOO!!!! Seems harder to read....


What seems harder to read? We're definitely open to making changes as needed.

#13 amyers12345  OFFLINE  

amyers12345

    Unofficial Resident Tax Pro

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,519 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 5:45 pm

As of now, I love the layout.. but a part of me is sad because it's like I lost a friend that I've seen daily for 6 years. I'll let you know if I find any problems!
The biggest impact you can make on the environment is to leave as little impact as possible. -Toyota :D

#14 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 6:12 pm

As of now, I love the layout.. but a part of me is sad because it's like I lost a friend that I've seen daily for 6 years.


I feel the same way, but the benefits outweigh the "inconvenience" of the change. We'd been using the old version for 6 years, which meant that the software was 6+ years old.

Expect many other forums which use vBulletin to upgrade soon if they haven't already. We're just one of the first to make the leap.

If it makes anyone feel better, we've been using the test site for a couple weeks now and this version already feels "normal" to me now, so just give it some time and once the initial shock wears off, it should feel more like GD.

#15 cotejb  OFFLINE  

cotejb

    Geaux Tigers!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,428 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 6:27 pm

When you quote someone it shows up halfway down your post? I hope that makes sense...Can it be fixed?
Ainslee Brooke! June 4, 2009 1:01 a.m. 5lbs 6 oz 18 1/2 inches :wub:
Avery Brianne! July 1, 2010 12:23 p.m 6 lbs 12 oz 19 1/2 inches :gdinlove:
:gddogwoot:I love my dogs!:gdflower3::usflag:Support the troops! :usaribbon

#16 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 6:36 pm

When you quote someone it shows up halfway down your post? I hope that makes sense...Can it be fixed?


I'm not sure what you are referring to. Can you elaborate?

#17 cotejb  OFFLINE  

cotejb

    Geaux Tigers!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,428 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 6:57 pm

This is how it looks on my screen. The quote is halfway down the person's post <a href="http://s59.photobucket.com/albums/g281/cotejb/?action=view¤t=forum.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g281/cotejb/forum.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>
Ainslee Brooke! June 4, 2009 1:01 a.m. 5lbs 6 oz 18 1/2 inches :wub:
Avery Brianne! July 1, 2010 12:23 p.m 6 lbs 12 oz 19 1/2 inches :gdinlove:
:gddogwoot:I love my dogs!:gdflower3::usflag:Support the troops! :usaribbon

#18 magickallight  OFFLINE  

magickallight

    Moderator

  • 58,449 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Gulf Coast of Alabama

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 7:06 pm

See below :tired:

“The more I know about people, the more I love my dog.” ~ Mark Twain.


#19 magickallight  OFFLINE  

magickallight

    Moderator

  • 58,449 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Gulf Coast of Alabama

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 7:08 pm

Can you be more specific about the search error? I tried pasting a search term into both the global search (in the upper right of every page) and in the "Search Forum" menu in the online hot deals forum and had no problems. Which web browser are you using?


Sorry - didn't see the "reply with quote tab" before... :blush:

When I am on the Online Hot Deals and try to search that thread it will not accept a paste - only a term if typed in. I am on FireFox. (Hope that helps.)

“The more I know about people, the more I love my dog.” ~ Mark Twain.


#20 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 7:24 pm

This is how it looks on my screen. The quote is halfway down the person's post


<a href="http://s59.photobucket.com/albums/g281/cotejb/?action=view¤t=forum.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g281/cotejb/forum.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>


Try doing this:

1. While in Internet Explorer, click on the Tools menu, then click on Compatibility View Settings.

2. Uncheck Display all Websites in Compatibility View, then click the Close button.

Apparently this is a known bug that should be fixed in the next update (which should be coming out any day now).

#21 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 7:28 pm

Sorry - didn't see the "reply with quote tab" before... :blush:

When I am on the Online Hot Deals and try to search that thread it will not accept a paste - only a term if typed in. I am on FireFox. (Hope that helps.)


I can't reproduce this. I copied something, went to that forum in Firefox, and was able to paste it in the search. I tried for searching the OHD forum as well as searching an individual thread. I'll see if I can find anything out about it on the vBulletin site, but I'm guessing it's something with your particular setup. Do you have the latest version of Firefox? Any toolbars/add-ons installed?

#22 kimpooh19  OFFLINE  

kimpooh19

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 628 Posts
  • Member since 2006
  • Location: Florida

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 7:55 pm

Try doing this:

1. While in Internet Explorer, click on the Tools menu, then click on Compatibility View Settings.

2. Uncheck Display all Websites in Compatibility View, then click the Close button.

Apparently this is a known bug that should be fixed in the next update (which should be coming out any day now).


I don't know if it's because I use Vista, but I don't have that option. Could it be labeled differently in Vista maybe?

:heart: someone with Eosinophilic Esophagitis!  


#23 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 21,753 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 8:01 pm

I don't know if it's because I use Vista, but I don't have that option. Could it be labeled differently in Vista maybe?


It would be labeled as Compatibility View somewhere in the menus. What version of Internet Explorer are you using?

#24 Kara1204  OFFLINE  

Kara1204

    Think Pink!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,235 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 8:07 pm

I was kinda hoping to be able to insert pics from my computer without having to go through PhotoBucket, etc. Am I missing a way to do it? And, some new "hip" smilies would of been good. I know, I am nit-picking.....but, everything looks good and I am just airing my "wish list"
All those who wander are not lost.........

#25 Kara1204  OFFLINE  

Kara1204

    Think Pink!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,235 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 8:08 pm

I have Vista, it is there right where you said it was...
All those who wander are not lost.........

#26 Scott  OFFLINE  

Scott

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,002 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 8:14 pm

I was kinda hoping to be able to insert pics from my computer without having to go through PhotoBucket, etc.
Am I missing a way to do it?
And, some new "hip" smilies would of been good.

I know, I am nit-picking.....but, everything looks good and I am just airing my "wish list"


yes...

Just as before you can "manage attachments" to insert a picture directly:

#27 Scott  OFFLINE  

Scott

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,002 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 8:16 pm

yes...

Just as before you can "manage attachments" to insert a picture directly:


You can also do attachments inline in the same area

[ATTACH]5240[/ATTACH]

#28 shopping4my3son  OFFLINE  

shopping4my3son

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted Mar 10, 2010 - 10:26 pm

What seems harder to read? We're definitely open to making changes as needed.


For me the blue isn't that dark so the whole page is a little harder on my eyes.

I think part of it is just getting use to where to look to read the post but the lighter colors are something to get use to.

Also with the "quick navigation" I'm not able to just click on what's already in the box and return to where I was. I have to use the drop down menu even if I don't want to change forums.

#29 JohnnyLaRue  OFFLINE  

JohnnyLaRue

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,226 Posts
  • Member since 2008

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 12:30 am

How do I know if I have a PM? I was used to the green highlighted thingy. Now I dont see anything and if it is there you have done a mighty fine job of making it subtle. :)

#30 Cinnamonhuskies  OFFLINE  

Cinnamonhuskies

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,425 Posts
  • Member since 2005
  • Location: Michigan

Posted Mar 11, 2010 - 5:12 am

ME TOOOOOO!!!! Seems harder to read....


Ditto. I want to be supportive but, ah its so weird. Might have to get those bifocals after all.
I'll get used to it.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users