want a laugh? read this (re: Big Lots BF Ad)

Brad

October 10, 2008

Via Online Submission Form

Dear President:

This Office represents Big Lots Stores, Inc. and its affiliates (“Big Lots”). It has come to our attention that you and/or your company may seek or otherwise obtain possession of and release Big Lots’ advertisements prior to the authorized public release dates. In particular, we understand that you may desire to post on your websites Big Lots’ “Black Friday” advertisement and other advertisements planned for Thanksgiving week before those advertisements are authorized by Big Lots to be made public.

Prior to the authorized public release, the elements of these advertisements, including sale dates and times, sale merchandise and pricing, are the product of substantial time and effort on the part of Big Lots’, and constitute confidential, proprietary and commercially valuable information. The advertisements and information therein are protected by trade secret, copyright and other federal and state laws. Therefore, any unauthorized reproduction, publication or distribution of the advertisements or information therein prior to Big Lots’ authorized release date violates Big Lots’ rights. A non-exclusive list of potential remedies available to Big Lots to redress copyright infringement include, but are not limited to, injunction, impounding and disposition of infringing articles, damages and profits, costs and attorneys’ fees, and criminal prosecution.

We have also become aware that some publishers may encourage third parties (such as printers and newspapers) who lawfully possess Big Lots’ advertisements to inappropriately disclose the advertisement and related information. The law provides liability for those who encourage violations, participate in them or receive economic benefits from them. Therefore, we wish to emphasize and place you on specific notice of the same.