Official Black Friday TVs (HD & 4K) Discussion Thread

Brad

As always, we have several dedicated threads for the hotter items each Black Friday. Please try to keep all discussion related to these items in their official threads. Other threads posted will likely be merged into this main thread.

Couple thoughts to start the discussion.

- 4K Media - How much are we seeing out there?  Where is it?  How do we get it?  Is it worth it?

- We had HDR10 and Dolby Vision as the two competing HDR formats last year.  Now we have two more major players in HLG and Advanced HDR.  So, how's that "future-proofing" working out for you?

- What do you know about ATSC 3.0?  Looks like another hardware revolution that will require at minimum new set-top boxes.

• Like 1

I work in the motion picture business and I am starting to see the studios releasing titles in 4K.  Most of them are new titles from the last 5 years.  I am not seeing much in classic titles.  

The price point for 4K is $22 and up.  I do think 4K is here to stay and wont be another tech like 3D.  

• Like 2

Couple thoughts to start the discussion.

- 4K Media - How much are we seeing out there?  Where is it?  How do we get it?  Is it worth it?

- We had HDR10 and Dolby Vision as the two competing HDR formats last year.  Now we have two more major players in HLG and Advanced HDR.  So, how's that "future-proofing" working out for you?

- What do you know about ATSC 3.0?  Looks like another hardware revolution that will require at minimum new set-top boxes.

Tons of potential for this discussion to drift off topic.  Should be fun.

I just bought a 55" 4k HDR television.  I mostly bought it because it was an inexpensive Roku TV and I needed a set for a place I cannot get to with coax or ethernet.  I think it looks pretty good.  $400 well spent.

- There is a lot of 4k programming available and it is featured prominently on this Roku TV.  Mostly, though, it isn't worth watching.