When/why did you start BF shopping? Why do you still go now?

budgetsRsexy

I am curious as to when other members first started BF shopping and what their reasons for it were then, as well as what your reasons are for it now.  I'm a new forum member, though I have browsed them as a guest in the past, and I felt this would be a really interesting way to learn more about other members.  

My story is: I first went BF shopping probably back in 2000.  I told my family that I was a college student and was just trying to make my dollar go further, but honestly it had more to do with the fact that my thanksgivings were spent at my grandparent's tiny, 1 bathroom house.  I had to sleep (and I use the term loosely) on the living room floor as it was the only space available, and as the youngest member of the family I couldn't complain that my back would get ruined.  The problem was that there are lots of people in the house well advanced in years and they all get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, which you had to access by going through the living room. Without fail every single one of them would forget I was trying to sleep on the floor and would turn on the light.  I ended up deciding that if I was going to be awake I might as well be productive AND get a good deal so I started going out shopping.  My first year I was unprepared, no game plan, no list and no snacks, but I had a blast!  I was hooked and have never looked back.