Guests, please register to remove all of the banner ads on the forums. It's fast, easy and completely free!

Photo

Best laptop for Senior Citizens?

21 replies to this topic

#1 Kara1204  OFFLINE  

Kara1204

Think Pink!

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,235 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Apr 24, 2008 - 6:05 pm

My parents want a laptop mainly for Googling and emailing to friends and family. They are both over 70 and have never even TOUCHED a computer. They will be TOTAL beginners. What is the best choice? How much memory is enough to make fiber optic connection run smoothly? Best brand? I am thinking Dell or HP. I see some have a processor that is not Intel and I know nothing about those. BTW, they insist on a laptop because they do not have the room for a PC, monitor, processor, etc. Any help, input and advice would be appreciated.:)

Edited by Kara1204, Apr 24, 2008 - 6:36 pm.

All those who wander are not lost.........

#2 Sue-Z-Q  OFFLINE  

Sue-Z-Q

• 1,070 Posts
  • Member since 2007

Posted Apr 24, 2008 - 6:10 pm

I got my mom a Dell E1405 back when Brad posted a hot deal. I also picked one up for my DD and they both like them. When I read the title of the thread, I was thinking seniors in school. :)

#3 pottsie66  OFFLINE  

pottsie66

• 1,161 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted Apr 24, 2008 - 6:12 pm

I got my mom a Dell E1405 back when Brad posted a hot deal. I also picked one up for my DD and they both like them.
When I read the title of the thread, I was thinking seniors in school. :)

That's what I was thinking, too. I could help you with that question, but I don't know what all you would want for senior citizens. Sorry I'm of no help. :no:

#4 mmm40  OFFLINE  

mmm40

• 3,197 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted Apr 24, 2008 - 6:26 pm

What about a Mac? I hear the interface is much easier to deal with for the inexperienced and technically challenged.
:moon: MIRANDA

#5 Xfeg  OFFLINE  

Xfeg

SPIDERPIG!

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 518 Posts