Guests: Please register to get rid of these annoying ads! Registered members enjoy an ad-free forum.

Photo

Free teacher hosting?

8 replies to this topic

#1 ajbrowns  OFFLINE  

ajbrowns

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,404 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Jan 4, 2005 - 6:19 pm

I am an 8th grade teacher and would like to create a website for my students. I would like to find a free service because I already spend so much on my class/students as it is. I want something where I can create a page in Printshop, they have templates,etc (I don't know html). I also need to be careful on ads. I would prefer one with no ads since it will be students coming to the site and an easy name to remember...not one that is 98 characters long. Ok, now having listed all of those requirements....does anyone know where I can find such a magical place? Thanks, Amie

#2 RossMAN  OFFLINE  

RossMAN

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,066 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Jan 4, 2005 - 6:31 pm

Amie,

You came to the right place :)

Please check your PM's

Ross

#3 ajbrowns  OFFLINE  

ajbrowns

• 1,404 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Jan 4, 2005 - 7:21 pm

It sounds like it....Yeah! Thanks Ross...I just responded. Amie

#4 Scott  OFFLINE  

Scott

• 12,002 Posts
  • Member since 2004

Posted Jan 5, 2005 - 4:23 am

As I'm sure that RossMan is hooking you up... look into the following PHP scripts.

I used to teach and do the school site and this was some stuff I looked at

http://www.digital-scribe.org/

A PHP/MySQL system for for putting homework on the site. This software actually can work for an entire school/district and is fairly simple.

One that is a little more complex is Moodle. It is a complete course management system. It is probably way more than you need.

http://www.moodle.org

I think the best bet may be to design a simple front page with a link to a directory that has some type of homework/assignment management syste.