Official Black Friday SMARTPHONES Discussion Thread

Brad

As always, we have several dedicated threads for the hotter items each Black Friday. Please try to keep all discussion related to these items in their official threads. Other threads posted will likely be merged into this main thread.

Looking for a smartphone for my elderly mom.  Nothing fancy, easy to use.  What is the best deal out there  Will BF ads have phones

Easy to use is sometimes a matter of personal ability. Many people find the iPhone easy to use, others find Android easy to use. I personally think it's all what you get used to using.

• 3 weeks later...
I think a iPhone SE would be great for her. It's small but packed with features. Plus now that the 7 is out, it will be inexpensive. But whatever device you do get, make sure to sit down and help her with it and write whatever passwords she creates down. I work in tech support and have heard so many elderly people just lost.

Looking for a smartphone for my elderly mom.  Nothing fancy, easy to use.  What is the best deal out there  Will BF ads have phones

Look at the cell phones and plans offered by Consumer Cellular, the only cell phone company affiliated with AARP.  In addition to common models, they offer some distinctly easy to use cell phone models specifically designed for older people and they have the lowest cost plans available for light users (starting at $9.50 per month plus 24 cents per minute or $14.25 per month with 250 minutes).

I believe all of Consumer Cellular's plans are "prepaid plans."  I have done some careful analysis of cell phone plan costs, and I recommend buying a phone and using prepaid plans no matter what company you use.  It is ALWAYS cheaper in the long run than the contract plans.  "Free" phones in a plan are both never actually free, and you pay more for them over time than if you bought them up front.

Edited by mcwalker