Jump to content



Guests, please register to remove all of the banner ads on the forums. It's fast, easy and completely free!

Photo

Can't access Gotta deal through Wi-Fi


5 replies to this topic

#1 Fishboysmom  OFFLINE  

Fishboysmom

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 30,124 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted May 20, 2016 - 1:07 am

Anyone know what might be wrong?

I have cleared everything including modem and I still can't access Gottdeal using the Internet at home. Same thing on all computers and tablets. I was able to access using 4G on my phone.

I have no problem accessing any other websites.

Edited by Fishboysmom, May 20, 2016 - 1:12 am.


#2 magickallight  ONLINE  

magickallight

    Member

  • 44,059 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted May 20, 2016 - 7:37 am

Anyone know what might be wrong?

I have cleared everything including modem and I still can't access Gottdeal using the Internet at home. Same thing on all computers and tablets. I was able to access using 4G on my phone.

I have no problem accessing any other websites.

 

I have been having the same problem for days now - what I have to do is clear the GottaDeal cookie from my main computer, then turn the modem off and unplug it from the main computer it is hooked into - wait 15 seconds and plug it back in and turn the modem back on - them reload your page with a bookmark and that will fix it until it happens again. It's been driving me nuts - thought it was MY MODEM - but now that I see that you are having problems - I can put off buying a new modem for now. ;)



#3 Fishboysmom  OFFLINE  

Fishboysmom

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 30,124 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted May 20, 2016 - 10:43 am

Thanks I'll try that.

#4 magickallight  ONLINE  

magickallight

    Member

  • 44,059 Posts
  • Member since 2005

Posted May 20, 2016 - 1:34 pm

Thanks I'll try that.

 

Hope it works for you. :)



#5 Fishboysmom  OFFLINE  

Fishboysmom

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 30,124 Posts
  • Member since 2006

Posted May 21, 2016 - 3:05 am

Ack! It didn't work.

#6 Brad  OFFLINE  

Brad

    Administrator

  • 20,382 Posts
  • Member since 2004
  • Location: WI

Posted May 21, 2016 - 3:30 am

For anyone having problems, get the IP address of the connection that is having problems and PM me with it.

You can get your IP here: http://whatismyipaddress.com

I actually found myself banned a couple weeks ago because my IP was added to the blacklist.





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users