View Full Version : The Aspire 5050-4570 AMD Turion LAPTOP for $299.00 !


davephillyj
10-21-2007, 10:23 AM
http://www.buynowstoreusa.com/Acer-The_Aspire_5050_4570_AMD_Turion_64_MK_38.html

Anyone know if this company is legit to offer this good a deal on a laptop??

I looked as much as I could and couldn't find anything on the company. But my sister is wanting to get this laptop. (she only has about 375 to spend).

ANY HELP would be appreciated!

elite2058
10-21-2007, 11:09 AM
I have never ordered from them, i hope somebody replies to you.

wvblast
10-21-2007, 11:25 AM
If you do a whois on the domain, the website has only been around since Oct. 9, 2007. So looks like the company is only a week old.:eek:

elite2058
10-21-2007, 11:34 AM
That doesn't sound good. Laptop is nice, but I wouldnt like a new website.

niccci
10-21-2007, 11:38 AM
The number to call is out of San Diego California( it is listed up on top on the left side of the website)... You could call the Better Business Bureau and see if they have any information on it. It is almost like one of those... if its too good to be true.. it usually is.. but it would be worth a little digging to see if its legit!!! My first thought was... anyone can throw up a website these days... and you call and give him all of your information including a credit card and poooooooooooof... he gets 100 calls in a week then disappears!!! But I am getting pretty skeptical in my old age...
Just my 2c worth

aj1906
10-21-2007, 12:05 PM
Hello. I would not only stay away, but I would run. I agree 100 percent with Nicci. The number listed on the website is a cell number. Be very careful. Have a great day.

trumpet87
10-21-2007, 4:04 PM
http://www.buynowstoreusa.com/Acer-The_Aspire_5050_4570_AMD_Turion_64_MK_38.html

Anyone know if this company is legit to offer this good a deal on a laptop??

I looked as much as I could and couldn't find anything on the company. But my sister is wanting to get this laptop. (she only has about 375 to spend).

ANY HELP would be appreciated!

Sorry, I don't know anything about the website but can give you an opinion on the laptop itself. My husband got the Acer Aspire 3003LCi about 3 years ago and it is still running strong. It is heavily used as it is for his work and he said it's one of the best laptops he's ever owned. He travels with it, so it gets "thrown" around a bit. He got it at Circuit City for about $700. I would definitely recommend keeping some kind of cooler/fan underneath it. He said he thinks that's why this one has lasted longer too, because he uses one regularly now. If they overheat a lot it will fry them. This fan only costs about $30. Good luck!:)

trumpet87
10-21-2007, 4:15 PM
STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE!!! I just called the number on the website. This is what I got:
"hello"
"yes, do you sell laptops?"
"yeah"
"are you a company?"
*pause* "UM, YEAH"
"we've been in business about 5 months now"

Holy cow!

labgeek
10-21-2007, 5:12 PM
To add to the negatives...
They're displaying the TRUSTe seal and ARE NOT a member.


The address listed:
310 Twin Oaks Valley Road
San MArcos, CA

is for a Mailbox, etc.

The "Suite 107-289" would be a PMB or personal mail box. Advertising it as a "Suite" is against federal law.

Brad
10-21-2007, 5:21 PM
Moving to Dead Deals so those who don't read the entire thread don't get taken by this shady site...

momof5sobusy
10-22-2007, 7:34 AM
Thanks so much for all who posted. My sister posted this for me to get information. I had no idea how to find the information that has been found here. thanks again