View Full Version : Carleton Real Estate


aplefka
2-25-2005, 8:00 PM
Okay, so I'm not sure if this is really the right place to post this, but I hope it is.

I saw an infomercial on tv recently and I wrote down the number thinking I might give it to my dad. I still have yet to do so because I wanted to do a little more research on it.

I don't even really know what the official name of it is (the website says Carleton Sheets but that seems like a weak name to me), but this guy Carleton gives ways of buying real estate with no money of pocket. It's supposedly built for people who have no money, no credit, and no experience.

Here's my question: Has anyone heard of this and knows whether or not it's legit? And how easy is it to get started? Obviously real estate is one of the best ways to invest your money but I was a bit skeptical because the results were all over the ballpark. Some people only added on $2,000 to their monthly income while others increased their net worth 1+ million after several years.

Our financial situation isn't that great and I figured this would be a good, surefire way to generate some extra cash if it's as good as it's supposed to be. Thanks for the help.

Edit: The link to the site is www.carletonsheets.com

mrn8
2-25-2005, 8:02 PM
:g_thumbsd

Forget you ever saw it. 99 times out of 50, those are complete scams, and the only one making money are the people in the commercials.

Brad
2-25-2005, 8:57 PM
sounds like one of those things where if he has all these great secrets, why would he share them with you? why wouldn't he just buy all the good real estate for himself? :)

RossMAN
2-25-2005, 9:08 PM
Alex,

This is a rip off. He's willing to share these secrets with you after you've paid THOUSANDS in classes, software, etc.

I did similiar research on the Robert Allen Institute (http://www.robertalleninstitute.com/) which is also nothing but a scam. Read these threads:
http://badbusinessbureau.com/reports/ripoff87349.htm
http://badbusinessbureau.com/reports/ripoff33468.htm

freesia39
2-25-2005, 10:10 PM
i pretty much say anything that says "NO MONEY DOWN! IT'S SO EASY!" there's no way it can be that easy.

scam.

aplefka
3-4-2005, 6:52 PM
Seems like everyone says no, which is what I figured. It costs 10 bucks to start and then 75 a month for 4 months. I figured it might be worth a shot.

DigDoug
3-4-2005, 6:55 PM
I'd stay far far far away from that. Anything worth having requires work.

teresa92
3-4-2005, 8:29 PM
Don't waste your time :g_thumbsd I actually ordered this system last year. They had a deal going where you could preview it for 30 days for $9.99 and then either purchase it or send it back. They sent 10 VHS tapes. I watched (skimmed through) the first 8 and they were all testimonials like you see on his informercial. I returned it. After they received it back they called asking why I wasn't happy with it. I told them that I was looking for tips, etc. and they told me that all of the secrets were on the last tape. Whatever :rolleyes: They are still calling nearly one year later to see if I would like to re-examine their "new & improved" system. :blahblah:

beatmix01
3-4-2005, 9:57 PM
Seems like everyone says no, which is what I figured. It costs 10 bucks to start and then 75 a month for 4 months. I figured it might be worth a shot.


take that $310 and invest somewhere else. You would be better off looking for low priced stocks that might hold promise, or invest in an ING Direct account at 2.6% (http://www.gottadeal.com/click.php?id=6734) or a Emigrant Direct Savings Account at 3.0% (http://forums.gottadeal.com/showthread.php?t=6528)